Skip to main content

Testimonials


“We felt so fortunate to have Mary Lewitt as our Realtor during the process of selling our home in Newton. We moved into a new home in another town before selling, so we relied heavily on Mary to supervise the entire process of preparing the house for sale. Mary took care of scheduling contractors, staging the house, and working with various other brokers, potential buyers, and lawyers. When there were crises, as there invariably are, such as a broken toilet, or buyers getting cold feet, we could always rely on Mary's competence and wealth of experience for advice and support. Mary stayed on top of the countless details involved in preparing and selling an old house, and she was always willing to take the time to explain those details, and the overall process, to the two of us who are very non-expert in real estate matters.

“We would highly recommend Mary Lewitt as a real estate broker in the Newton area.”

-- Greg S. and Ann W., January 2021

“We have worked with Mary Lewitt on the sale of two homes and the purchase of three, and we are so glad that we had her by our side through it all. Mary cares for our family as if it were her own, and brings years of local knowledge and transaction experience to the table on our behalf. She works tirelessly to make herself available to our busy family whenever we need, deeply cares that we are getting what is best according to our interests, and manages our expectations based on what is reasonable in the context of the broader market or industry norms.

“Mary is special because she has decades-long relationships with all sorts of vendors that contribute meaningfully to each of our home purchase and sales. Not only does she treat us like family, but she also treats those critical service providers like family, too -- the way she conducts her business strongly aligns with our values and how we aspire to conduct our own business. She is a talented communicator and trustworthy to the utmost degree.”

-- Sarah K., November 2020

“Mary and Martha are the dream team. They have helped me purchase two wonderful homes in the past 8 years. Each house had 10+ bids, and because of their guidance and expertise, mine was the offer that was accepted both times. They also listed my Cape last fall, and then sold it in just one day for well  over asking, which was a result of their experience, staging, photography and marketing. When you list with Mary and Martha, their whole rolodex comes with them, which includes anyone you need to fix, paint and update whatever needs to be done in order to sell or move into your house. Anything that made me nervous was easily taken care of by a phone call to one of them, and nothing was ever a problem.”

-- Jeanine B., February 2020

“Mary Lewitt’s service in selling my house was well above and beyond my expectations.  Having already moved out of state, I had to rely on Mary to prepare my house for sale.  Staying within my budget, she oversaw all painting and repairs and beautifully staged the house.  She was present for and facilitated all inspections and worked closely with my attorney so that the closing could happen quickly with no glitches on our part. 

“Her professionalism and expert advice throughout the process from decorating to pricing to negotiations to closing was invaluable.  This is the first house I have sold and Mary was more than instrumental in making the process considerably less terrifying than I had anticipated. 

“And she accomplished all this, getting over the asking price and closing the sale, in a timeframe of less than 2 months.  I really don’t believe that there are many brokers out there like her.  I highly recommend her.”

-- Connie N., January 2020

"We highly recommend Mary Lewitt. Mary is extremely knowledgeable of the Newton area. Mary was instrumental in helping us make the best decisions for our family. Not only was Mary patient and did not rush us into a deal like most Real Estate Agents would do. Her valuable insights and experience prevented us from making wrong choices: impractically far from transportation, wrong school districts, less desirable neighborhood, etc.

“We are very grateful for Mary’s help, kindness and hard work.”

-- Benjamin and Gwen H., July 2019

"We highly recommend Mary Lewitt as a real estate agent. My husband, myself and my son were looking for a condo in the Newton area. It would be home for my son.  Three different opinions and a lower price range at the end of the season did not deter Mary. She took on these challenges with professionalism, patience and humor. She was easy to talk to and always available for questions or problems. She got inspectors when needed, repairs completed, and a very good price on the property. She put in a lot of time to find the right condo and my son is very happy with the result.”

-- Joan, Marty and Ben T., February 2019  

“Mary Lewitt from Hammond Residential Real Estate was our real estate agent last summer and was wonderful. The situation which led us to using her services was fraught with emotion as our elderly parents were moving from their home of over 50 years to a supported living environment. In addition, there were legal matters that needed to be attended to in order for the house to be placed on the market. 

“Mary knew exactly how to assist us and the appropriate timing for each step of the process. Her knowledge, experience and skills were instrumental in helping us navigate this rather complex process which, in turn, helped to alleviate our level of stress. Mary was organized and walked us through each step, including removing belongings, preparing the house for viewing, etc. while providing reassurance at each turn, until the house was sold and the paperwork processed. It felt like a great weight was lifted! My parents are now settled into their new living environment and our family is able to focus on assisting them in other ways.

“Thank you, Mary, for all your assistance and support!”

-- Amy and Paula K., November 2018

“Mary and Martha Lewitt are a fantastic real estate team. The first-time home buying process is very overwhelming and they both did such a fantastic job in helping us find a house from start to finish. They were both always very responsive, professional and genuinely looked out for us with our best interests in mind. We always felt heard and all of our questions answered. They are true advocates for their clients and we appreciated them at every step in the process. We highly recommend Mary and Martha!”

-- Christine S., August 2017

"Mary Lewitt is the absolute best. She sold us our first house in Newton Centre. We were so impressed with her thoroughness, responsiveness, and guidance, that we decided to work with her to sell our first house and to buy our next one in West Newton. Through these buying and selling experiences, Mary’s tremendous experience in the industry gave us a competitive edge: she knows all the local real estate agents and neighborhoods like the back of her hand. For example, when we went to open houses, she would often casually mention, ‘Oh, I sold this house to these people fifteen years ago.’ It feels like she knows every house in the area from personal experience. And her excellent relationships with other local agents helped us—many agents want to work with Mary (more than they want to work with other agents). Based on her experience, assertiveness, and kindness, we have referred Mary to several friends and family members in Newton, Needham, and Cambridge—all of whom also marvel at her knowledge, professionalism, and how she just gets things done.”

-- Alison W.B., July 2017